Home Blog What are the States Mandating E-Verify? Is your State one of them?

What are the States Mandating E-Verify? Is your State one of them?

Posted December 19, 2019 - Vineesha Kakarlapudi

E-Verify is a web-based system that allows enrolled employers to confirm the eligibility of their employees to work in the United States. Employers will verify the identity and employment eligibility of newly hired employees by electronically matching the information in Form I-9 with that of SSA and DHS.

What are the States Mandating E-Verify? Is your State one of them?

E-Verify is a voluntary program. However, employers with federal contracts or subcontracts that contain the Federal Acquisition Regulation (FAR) E-Verify clause are required to enroll in this program as a condition of federal contracting. Employers may also be required to participate in the program if their states have legislation mandating the use of E-Verify, such as a condition of business licensing. Finally, in some instances, employers may be required to participate, as a result of a legal ruling.

So, employers have a dilemma regarding the states that mandate E-verify, and which states mandate which kind of employers.

The Below Map represents the states that mandate the use of E-Verify:

What are the States Mandating E-Verify? Is your State one of them?

Public Employer/ Contractors

  • Florida
  • Indiana
  • Missouri
  • Nebraska
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • Texas

Public Employers only

  • Idaho
  • Virginia

Employers Through Local or Municipal Requirement only

  • Michigan
  • New York
  • Oregon
  • Washington

Rescinded or Expired

  • California
  • Illinois

All or most employers

  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • Georgia
  • Mississippi
  • North Carolina
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Utah

Contractors Only

  • Colorado
  • Minnesota

The Option of Mandatory E-Verify or collect other Type of Documents

  • Louisiana

States that don’t mandate for any employers

  • Alaska
  • Arkansas
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Hawaii
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Montana
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • North Dakota
  • New Mexico
  • Ohio
  • Rhode Island
  • South Dakota
  • Vermont
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

Why some states are mandating the use of E-verify?

Some states mandate the use of E-verify with the hope of reducing the incidents of employers unknowingly hiring and retaining undocumented workers.

But some employers still refuse to enroll in the program due to the time spent on process completion for every hire. OnBlick can be the employer’s solution. OnBlick integrates with E-verify Web Services, which provides an easy electronic submission process. It helps employers in auto-populating and submitting the employee’s data from Form I-9. It also guides employers in handling the SSA/ DHS TNC with easy-to-understand workflows. Now you can complete the process in an instant and stay compliant.